How to Hide or Delete a YouTube Channel

YouTube is one of the most popular video platforms for many years. Every day there are millions of users who go to the Google service in search of certain content, video tutorials, information in general or music, among others, while many others are those who bring new content to the platform from their own channels. If you are one of them and you are thinking about removing your channel or hiding it for a while , we show you how to do it step by step.



We all know what social networks are like and these types of platforms on which we present certain information and we do not know very well what the impact may be. And is that YouTube, in addition to being a video platform, has a large community of users who follow their favorite channels. Regardless of the reason we may have, perhaps you are considering deleting your YouTube channel or giving yourself time to return with new content or renewed forces, in which case it is best to temporarily hide your channel so as not to lose it.

YouTube

Anyway, we will show below the steps to follow to permanently delete a YouTube channel or temporarily hide it.

How to hide a YouTube channel temporarily

Luckily, the Google platform offers us the ability to hide content from our YouTube channel and re-enable it later. In this case, it is important to know that both the name of the channel and the videos, likes, subscriptions and followers will become private.

On the other hand, all comments and responses on the Community tab will be permanently deleted. However, our account data in other Google services will not disappear. Once we have all this clear, these would be the steps to follow to hide your YouTube channel:

  • We open our browser on the PC and go to YouTube .
  • We’re signed in with our Google account.
  • We go to the advanced configuration of our account from this link or from Configuration> See advanced configuration within our channel.

  • At the bottom, we select the Delete channel option .
  • Google will ask us to enter the password again to make sure that we are the ones who are carrying out the action.

  • We display the option I want to hide my channel.
  • Check the boxes to select the content of the channel we want to hide.

  • Finally we select the option Hide my channel.

To upload new content, comment, use playlists or other users can see our content, we will have to be able to make our channel visible again.

Steps to follow to remove a YouTube channel

There is a lot of difference between hiding and deleting a YouTube channel. Therefore, before deciding to remove it permanently, it is important to know what this means, because if we close our channel, all content will be permanently deleted, including videos, comments, messages, playlists and history. If it is still what we want, then this is the steps to follow:

  • We open our browser on the PC and go to YouTube .
  • We’re signed in with our Google account.
  • We go to the advanced configuration of our account from this link or from Configuration> See advanced configuration within our channel.
  • At the bottom, we select the Delete channel option .
  • Google will ask us to enter the password again to make sure that we are the ones who are carrying out the action.
  • We display the option I want to permanently delete my content.

YouTube

  • Check the boxes to confirm the removal of the channel.
  • Click on the Delete my content button .

It may take a while to update the information. Meanwhile, we may still see some thumbnails on the website.

How to make a hidden channel visible

There is something that indicates that our channel is hidden, since in this case we will see a message in the Video Manager that tells us that our YouTube channel includes content, but it has been deactivated. This means that it is hidden and therefore, platform users cannot see our content.

This is what we must do to make our channel visible again:

  1. Sign in to YouTube .
  2. We go to the section to create a channel and fill in the form. This will restore our channel.
    • In the form we must be careful not to click on «To use a company name or other name, click here». If we do, a new channel will be created instead of the hidden channel being restored.